Reader. Writer. Romantic.

The Novelty of Love

Has the novelty of love worn off of you?

I remember a time
When we’d spend every waking moment
Talking and laughing
Waiting for each others’ replies

I remember a time
When I felt giddy in your presence
When just seeing me made you shiver with excitement

Has the novelty of love passed you by?

I hear no more sweet nothings
I hear no more replies
I wonder if I just died
Would you even know?

You say that you love me
But I feel it’s mechanical
Obligatory
A beautiful lie

My words are still true
My heart still beats for you
Forever and always
I will always choose you

You’ve gone back to your old ways
You say that you’re busy
But you make time when it’s convenient
You say that you’ve forgotten
And I believe it

Maybe I’m crazy
And maybe I overreact
But maybe I’m right
Maybe this is your way of saying
That you don’t love me anymore
Maybe
This is goodbye

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

