Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Shattered Together

Who would have thought, when we first met that day
That you would soon become my heart and soul.
I never once imagined such a role
You’d come to have. For always, I’ve pushed away
All those who dared stir the dormant fray
Of passioned zeal that lies within my coal
Black coffer. Too long have I let its toll
Run its course on me. But I had to play
This game to learn who I was, to give you
The best of what I could be. Too many failed
Attempts on both our parts have left us hurt.
But now we know what is meant to love true
And I forever promise to prevail
In sickness and in health to Love’s exert

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

