Reader. Writer. Romantic.

I found these reviews saved to a USB when I was clearing out some old files and decided I might as well post them. These reviews, you could say, are where I got started originally. They’re not as detailed as I do them now, so take them with a grain of salt.

Another morning having dim sum, I think I might not want to eat it again when I get back to Calgary for a while. We went down to Victoria’s Chinatown, which is the oldest China town in Canada! We didn’t order too much because we can’t pack things away, so we ordered shrimp rice crepes, beancurd rolls, xiao long bao, house fried noodle, cilantro shrimp dumplings, shark fin shrimp dumplings and tofu stuffed with shrimp. The crepes for the shrimp rice crepes were too thick; therefore it wasn’t smooth enough for me. The waiter recommended their xiao long bao as one of their best dishes and it really was one of the best things that we had from this restaurant. The beancurd was pretty good too, only problem was that there wasn’t enough meat stuffed inside and it was done so unevenly. The house fried noodles came very crispy, but it was all broken into small pieces and falling apart, making it hard to eat; it also created a lot of “soup” in my bowl from all the sauce. The cilantro shrimp dumplings were ordinary; they tasted pretty much like they’re supposed to, but nothing spectacular. Their only issue was that they were over-steamed and thus the casing was too soft and fell apart upon touch. We didn’t even get to try the shark fin shrimp dumplings because it never came, they completely forgot about it and they actually steam it right before they serve it, so they didn’t have time to steam it (or rather, we didn’t want to wait for them to prepare it). Lastly, the tofu was tiny. I honestly think I could fit the entire piece of tofu in my mouth, but since it was being shared between 4 people, I only got half, so I practically swallowed it without having to chew and really don’t remember what it tasted like. For this restaurant, I would give it a 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

