Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Defined

I keep telling myself
I will not be defined by my relationship status
I keep telling myself
Lies that I’m not lonely
That I’m happy
And independent

But the truth is
That more than anything
I want to love
And have those feelings reciprocated
That more than anything
I want to have a family of my own to go home to
To work hard
And give everything that I am
To someone I know
Would drop everything for me

But I hold back
All my feelings bottled up inside
Still acting
Still playing a role I’ve outgrown

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

