Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Settling on Hope

We both knew from the start that things weren’t gonna work out
I guess we hoped that the other would
But life and love can’t be built purely on hope

Different priorities
Different places
Different dreams
Different goals
It’s a wonder we got together

We are such different people
It was never meant to be
But I’m not sad
You’re an experience I’ve learned so much from

You’ve added something to my search
And I know that I want a man like you in my life one day
But now is not the time
Maybe some years down the road
I’ll see you again
Each with our own families
And we’ll smile knowingly
Knowing that we made the right choice

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

