Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Location: 4121 Main St
Website: http://www.locusonmain.com

Our original intention when we went to Main street to type up some letters and poetry at the Regional Assembly of Text was to go for some Vietnamese food, but as most of our repetoire for the last few days has consisted of Asian food we decided to switch things up a bit. A preliminary perusal of their menu yielded a good variety of items and we thought, “why not give this place a try?”

Online, the restaurant was described as Gothic. We wondered if it meant Gothic as in the archetecture or the other one. It was the other one. The place was more a place for drinks rather than a restaurant, hence lounge, but we were still up for giving it a try.

We started with drinks: freshly squeezed pineapple and grapefruit juices. They then gave us unlimited complementary bread. Two types: a cinnamon bread (they ran out of their signature apricot bread) and a Russian potato bread. Each came with their own specially made whipped butter. There was a nutmeg vanilla butter for the cinnamon bread and a red pepper butter for the potato bread. As a savoury person, I preferred the latter of the two especially since there was some heat in it. For our mains we ordered the Baja Tilapia, the Grass-fed Lamb burger, and the wild boar eggs benny. The Tilapia was pan-seared and rubbed with a key lime-chili, served atop a black bean and bell pepper rice pilaf and garnished with guacamole, salsa fresca, red pepper aioli and corn tortilla hay. I found that the portion size was just right. When I was finished, I didn’t feel bloated, nor did I still feel hungry. The seasoning was spot on and incredibly refreshing. There were no flavours that overpowered any other and everything was perfectly balanced. My friend ordered the Grass-fed lamb burger. Personally, I dislike lamb, bison, elk, and the like primarily because of their gamey flavour. This burger was no exception. The gaminess was very strong and even in the one bite I took, I was overpowered. However, as per her regular experience, the portion size was huge. Even as she tried to take large bites out, she barely made a dent in the burger. It ended up being that she had to deconstruct the burger and even then, she couldn’t finish it all. The burger came with a side of roasted potatoes, onions, and carrots and a salad. The salad had a very light, almost undetectable amount of dressing. All I could gather from it was that it was some sort of oil based dressing. The roasted potato side was a natural pairing for the hearty richness of the lamb. The duck sandwich was the one I was most excited for. My sister and I have an affinity for duck, her more than I, so I wondered if it’d be anything like the duck confit from Vendome. The duck sandwich consisted of pulled duck leg confit, mizuna greens, and brie, brushed with honey-whiskey bbq sauce and served on a toasted ciabatta bun and a side of roasted house potatoes and organic mixed greens. The duck sandwich lived up to my expectations and I was very pleased with the one bite I got of it before it was devoured by my sister. The eggs on the bennie were cooked to perfection. When sliced open, the golden egg yolk spilled forth. From my vantage point the wild boar looked to be well cooked, not too dry or anything, but have no clue what it tasted like.

This place was very quaint but they don’t have an extensive menu. The service was good, but some word choices seemed odd to me (ex. instead of saying I’ll be there in a minute, or I’ll just be right there, the guy said, please standby.) The decor in the place was one of a kind, not sure if it really works though. I would recommend trying this place out once, but there may not be much for you try on a return trip back. Based on my experience, I’d rate this place 2.75/5.

 

Bathroom interior 1

  

Bathroom interior 2

  

Giant bug above our table

  

Painting over our table

  

Paintings behind us

  
  

Cinnamon Bread and Russian Potato Bread with Nutmeg Vanilla Whipped Butter and Red Pepper Whipped Butter

  

Grass-fed Lamb Burger

  

Wild Boar Eggs Benny

  

Baja Tilapia

  

Duck Sandwich

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

