Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Trapped

Last night I dreamt of you
Holding my hand
And holding my heart
You’re the kind of guy
I’d wait forever for

In each other’s company
We did not wish to part
You could not let me go
As you lingered for an excuse

I held on as long as I could
I didn’t want you to go
As much as you didn’t want to leave

But in the morning I woke with a start
Jolting from this jaded reality
Still tasting your memory on my lips
Still feeling your arms wrapped tightly around me
Clinging to its remnants

Is such a love lasting?
Is such a love worthwhile?
Am I in love with novelty?
Or am I just lonely?

Do you wake in the night
Gazing into nothing
Thinking and dreaming
Of what we could be?

Comments on: "Trapped" (4)

  1. aramsey_poet said:

    Oh, this line: Still tasting your memory on my lips. Love it. So real sometimes these dreams we have of they who fit so perfect with us.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

