Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Monsters

I can laugh
Smile
And glow with a confidence I’ve never possessed

i can fool you
And you’ll never see through my veil
That conceals the armed sentries
And barbed wire topped brick walls

I can hide from you
All the monsters in my head
All the ruins in my heart

But these are things that I can clearly see
These are things I can never escape
Or run away from

You think I build walls to protect myself
To hide who I truly am from the world
Because I’m afraid of pain
Of being hurt again
But the truth is that I’m holding in so much
That you can never know
That the world will never see
For its own protection

“We stopped looking for monsters under our bed when we realized that they were inside us”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

