Reader. Writer. Romantic.

In my world

Do you think me too sensitive?
Do you think me too weak?
Unable to express the rage I truly feel inside?

I may say I don’t care what they think
But like everyone else,
I care so much
I may say I don’t feel the hurt of their words
But like everyone else,
I want their approval
More than anything in the world
I want to be liked

What I say 
And what I do
Are complete and separate

I must be right
I must be liked

I worry far too much
About what others think
How others feel

My empathy has become my weakness
My righteousness, my hate 

I grew up under authoritarian rule
What I say goes
What I am told 

                          Remains

Under a dictatorship
There is no right and wrong
Only my truth
Obey or die

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

