Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Reality of Dreams

Prompt: Be inspired by a dream or a nightmare of your choosing. It can be yours or one that someone else has told you about

When I was young
I met you
Going on grand adventures
With you by my side
As I grew up those grand adventures disappeared
And I began to lose the fantasy we built

No longer did we fight dragons
Venture through middle earth
Or try to save Gotham

Instead you married me
We settled down
Started a family

We were happy

And each morning I woke up
I didn’t remember
The grand adventure of the night before
Just as I used to

Each morning instead
I remember how you made me feel
It’s always the lingering bliss

So much like reality
It’s how something made you feel
You may not remember the lesson the teacher taught
The message your co-worker gave
But you’ll always remember the way it made you feel

I’ve become a realist
And truly that scares me
I’d rather be the idealist
Dreaming my life away

So in a way
My dreams have become my nightmares

Comments on: "Reality of Dreams" (1)

  1. sadaatmahmood said:

    Wonderful 🙂 Very original

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

