Reader. Writer. Romantic.

A man like you

What do I see in a man older than me?
I see experience
And maturity that others my age don’t have
I see in him the things that I missed out
In my childhood
Especially the love and tenderness
The chance to escape from solitude
From loneliness
What I truly see in you is what I cannot have
And in seeing that
It makes you all the more…

Could it be that what I see is an opportunity?
A chance to replace my father
With someone more loving than he?
Could I be looking for a legitimate chance and reason to run away?

It could be
I could be

Am I creating a fairy tale dream
Of a family I wish? I could be

Perhaps Freud was right
And that scares me

Comments on: "A man like you" (2)

  1. I’m not too fond of the title but oh, those last but ahh, the last two lines capture the poem and the situation so well, loved the poem ❤ Am currently working on a poem dealing with the same topic too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

