Reader. Writer. Romantic.

Location: 1401 20 Ave NW

The first time I had a shawarma from this place I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Despite the mess I made, these are the best things I have ever eaten in my entire life. So naturally I requested this for my lunch at the office for my birthday (well joint birthday lunch since a coworker had her birthday the day before mine).

There are three main choices for shawarmas: chicken, beef, or chicken and beef. I have tried all three and I can say that I prefer the chicken way more than the beef. The beef is donair meat, meaning that it’s not a full muscle piece of meat. It’s been somewhat grounded up and lost much of its beefy texture. The chicken, however, is still a full piece only ripped up into more bite sized chunks. The seasoning is a little on the salty side, but goes well with the veggies added in. Like most places, the shawarmas are customizable, so you can choose which veggies are in and which are out. Since I’m a pig, I put all the veggies in: tomatoes, lettuce, and onions. Extra veggies include banana peppers and pickles which you have to specifically ask for. Then there are three sauces: sweet, garlic, and hot. I also ask for all three of them. It is likely that after you’ve eaten one of these, you may need to brush your teeth several times or else risk killing someone with your garlic and onion breath. But it is so worth it. The size of these shwarmas is more than I can eat in one sitting. Just to give you a general idea of how big these things are, two large shwarmas can feed my entire family. One large shwarma is the length of my head. Best reaction I got when I went into this place to buy them since my father couldn’t park the car since they were so busy (they’re always busy cuz they’re so good) was the guy asking if I was sure I wanted two large shwarmas. I think he thought I was going to eat the whole thing by myself. Haha, if I did that I really would die.

Though these are amazing, I don’t think I can eat them everyday because they are kinda oily and I know too many of them wouldn’t sit well in my stomach. But that isn’t gonna keep me from coming back and giving it a rating of 4.5/5.

Chicken Shwarma with everything

Chicken Shwarma with everything

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.